Governor Information
Powers and Duties of the Governing Board

Parliament has given a range of duties and powers to Governing Boards under the Education Acts including all of the following:

  • conducting the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement;
  • setting appropriate targets for pupil achievement;
  • taking general responsibility for the conduct of the school - in practice this should include how in broad strategic terms it should be run;
  • managing the school’s budget; including determining the staff complement and making decisions on staff pay in accordance with the School Teachers Pay and Conditions Document;
  • making sure that the curriculum for the school is balanced and broadly based and in particular that the National Curriculum and religious education are taught, and reporting on National Curriculum assessments and examination results;
  • determining the staff complement and a pay policy for the school;
  • participating in the appointment of the head and deputy head teacher and other staff and regulating staff conduct and discipline;
  • establishing, following consultation with all staff, and reviewing annually a performance management policy for staff appraisal; and
  • drawing up an action plan after an inspection.
The Functioning of the Governing Body

Our Governing Body consists of volunteers who represent the parents, staff, community and local authority, see below.

We work in partnership with the Head Teacher to set the vision for the school. We support, challenge and hold to account the Head Teacher and the School Leadership Team to improving children’s outcomes and raising standards. In addition we review the financial performance of the school ensuring money is well spent.

In supporting the school we are linked to key areas, which include safeguarding, standards, finance, Pupil Premium, Special Education Needs as well as supporting the School Development Priorities for the year. In addition we have Pay, Discipline and Grievance, Pupil Exclusion, Appeals and Head Teacher Appraisal committees that we serve on.

Our School Development Priorities are:

  1. Quality of Leadership and Management
  2. Quality of Teaching, Learning and Assessment
  3. Personal Development, Welfare and Safety
  4. Outcomes for Pupils
  5. Early Years Foundation Stage Outcomes

Below are details of our Governors, along with their areas of responsibility:

Governor posts held

Mr Lee Fitzpatrick

Chair of Governors

Mrs Katie Brettell

Vice Chair
Safeguarding Governor

Miss Sarah Woodham

Head Teacher

Mrs Laura Forgham

Clerk to Governors

Blake Stephenson

Authority Governor


Peter Morrison

Parent Governor

Blair Austin

Parent Governor

Donna Jones

Staff Governor

Alex Ford

Co-opted Governor

Ms Carol Summerfield

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Jeanette Mills

Co-opted Governor

Kirsty Whitehead

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Louise Reece-Jones

Co-opted Governor

Steve Bishop

Co-opted Governor

Sue Young

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Ciara Dumpleton

Deputy Head of Stondon Lower School

Kerry Young

Deputy Head of Shillington Lower School


Mrs Angela Phillips

Associate Member

Mrs Tracey Gray

Associate Member